New Year, Fresh Start

I’d like to take a couple of minutes out of the last hours of 2011 to thank everybody who stopped by for a look at my first attempt at a blog. 

Because I wandered off the road in September, I’ll be revising my reading plan next week for a fresh start in 2012.  (More on that another day; I can’t think seriously about important things like lists and literature after a glass of spiked eggnog.)

One new thing I want to try in 2012 is to post one paragraph every fourth day based on a book I found in our local used book store earlier this week.  I wasn’t looking for reading material; two of the blogs I follow had posted about purses made out of used hardback books, infecting me with a hideous green case of purse envy.  I wasn’t about to spend upwards of $50 on myself after Christmas for something I was pretty sure I could make myself, though.  Instead I spent $13.99 on the .pdf pattern at A Spoonful of Chocolate Hope on Etsy and set off to use some of my store credit at Second Looks Books.

It’s not easy to find a used hardback with an attractive cover – especially one that, morphed into a purse, will hold even a fraction of the junk I usually lug around with me.  (Reading material! Writing material!  Survival gear!)  The reference section and the shelf of anthologies seemed the most promising.   

Nathaniel Hawthorne's Knickerbocker Tales holds my (thin) wallet, phone, four pens in pen loops, my reading glasses, and a small notebook. Cutting out the pages was as painful as amputating one of my own body parts! But, considering my grades in high school Home Ec, I think it turned out pretty well.

I ended up not only decimating but exceeding my remaining store credit by $11.  I found two books to “repurpose,” and of course one to read:  The Walker’s Literary Companion, an anthology of poetry, fiction excerpts, and essays about the joys of walking.

Starting tomorrow, I’m going to try to read one of the 89 blessedly short selections from the book every fourth day and write a one-paragraph post about the text, my walk, or both.  The dog, my writing, and I all need more exercise. 

This may be, like many good New Year’s resolutions, doomed to failure; but I promised to take my nephew backpacking some place challenging, like the back country of Dolly Sods, this summer.  Unless I start walking more than once a week it’s really going to hurt.  Maybe a little reading treat now will give me more incentive to exercise than the shadowy prospect of sore muscles six months hence.

May you all be blessed with good friends and good reads in the New Year!

About readersquest

I'm a retired naval officer and writer. I live with my husband, two sons, and several family pets in a house in the woods.
This entry was posted in Journey, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

